

August 30, 2017

Dear Colleague/Community Member:

The Geauga Family First Council once again is seeking nominations for the bi-annual "John Murray Commitment to Families and Children Award." The award winner and nominees will be recognized at a reception on Monday, October 23, 2017 at 3:30 p.m. at the Geauga Library Administrative Offices, 12701 Ravenwood Drive, Chardon.

Through this award, our Council recognizes those people in the community who have exhibited a continuous commitment to Geauga's families and children, coupled with a special passion for their work. We are seeking nominees who go "above and beyond the call of duty" in supporting and advocating for children and families whether as a direct service volunteer, a board member, a human service professional, or some combination of all three. The John Murray Award was established by the Council in 2001. Past winners include: Martie & Bob Ballish, Ruth Carlton, and JoAnn Leach in 2001; Susan Hallums, Judge Charles Henry, and Andrea Pollock in 2003; Deputy Joe Keough, Linda Myers, and Bill Repke in 2005; Dr. Heng Wang, Lynn Kempf, Wally Waldbauer, and Frank Scarano in 2007; Tracy Jordan, Meredith Myers and Helyne Walker in 2009; Rochelle Payne and Dr. William Rowane in 2011; Tom and Peggy Hannan, Sara Shininger, and Deb Pruce in 2013; and Cathy Yane and Claire Zurbach in 2015.

John Murray was one of the original Geauga Family First Council members and was not only an extremely capable County Administrator, but also a consistent advocate for Geauga's children. In his dual role on the Council as County Administrator and Community Representative, John epitomized the phrase "above and beyond the call of duty". He was interested in the progress of each child and the impact of each Council-funded program. John, in his quiet but effective way, always asked the tough questions and always pushed other Council members to keep the best interest of each child and family at the heart of Council decision-making.

These awards are given in honor of John's passion for youth and in support of those people in Geauga who advocate on behalf of children. Please use the attached nomination form to help us recognize this special and consistent commitment to youth and families. All nominations should be emailed to nancy.seelbach@jfs.ohio.gov, faxed to 440-286-6654, or mailed to Geauga Family First Council, 12480 Ravenwood Drive, Chardon, Ohio 44024. Please share this with your colleagues.

To receive full consideration, nominations must be received by September 15, 2017. For more information please contact Nancy Seelbach at 440-285-1201.

Sincerely,

Don Rice, President Geauga Family First Council

Nancy Seelbach, Coordinator Geauga Family First Council

